Murder, Magic, and What We Wore

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
1
Deciding to become a spy after her father is killed and his money goes missing, Annis Whitworth uses her talent for sewing magical garments to open a dressmaking shop as a cover while she quietly searchs for her father's murderer.
Publisher: New York :, Alfred A. Knopf,, [2017]
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780553535211
0553535218
9780553535204
Branch Call Number: YF JON NVD
Characteristics: 293 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

MelifluousView Jul 22, 2018

Annis fought to support herself and her aunt hoping not to leave behind the life she had always known. I enjoyed the magical aspect of the story, but I especially loved how she grew to understand and respect her maid Millie.

ArapahoeBridget Jun 28, 2018

My favorite part of this was the magic, and I loved the way fashion and magic mixed. I didn't love our leading lady quite as much as Sophronia, but I think it could be a good fit for fans of Etiquette & Espionage.

c
Chickwheat
Jan 29, 2018

A good blend of likeable characters & “what will happen next?” I hope readers of all ages find this book - I thoroughly enjoyed it and hope Ms. Jones has a long, productive writing career!

JessicaGma Jan 15, 2018

Definitely a fun read. I'd recommend this for a young teen or older tween as it's on the fluffy side of things, but quite entertaining. The premise is quite god and similar to Kat Incorrigible where you have the regency period with the added touch of magic. Ammis is great as your narrator, especially when things don't go well for her. She had a moment of pity but pick herself up again to try something else. I hope this ends up as a series!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

g
green_hippo_134
Feb 03, 2018

green_hippo_134 thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NVDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top