Time Will Say Nothing

Time Will Say Nothing

A Philosopher Survives An Iranian Prison

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Sorbonne-educated and the author of almost 30 books, Ramin Jahanbegloo, a philosopher of non-violence in the tradition of Tolstoy and Gandhi, was arrested and detained in Iran's notorious Evin prison in 2006. A petition against his imprisonment was initiated, with Umberto Eco, Jurgen Habermas, and Noam Chomsky among the signatories. International organizations joined in, and media around the world reported his case extensively. Finally, after four months, he was released. In this memoir Jahanbegloo recounts his confinement, his fear for his life, and his concern for the well-being of his family. With cockroaches his only companions, he is sustained by the wisdom of the great philosophers and by his memories of childhood in Tehran and coming-of-age in Paris. Now exiled to Canada, Jahanbegloo wryly observes that he "traded the danger and violence of an Iranian prison for the mediocrity and hypocrisy of a late capitalist society" and finds himself struggling yet again--this time against banality--in his continued quest for freedom.
Publisher: Regina, Saskatchewan :, University of Regina Press,, 2014
ISBN: 9780889773028
Branch Call Number: 365.45092 JAH NVD
Characteristics: 251 pages ; 18 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
mtcornell
Sep 08, 2016

Exceptionally well written. Can't say it any better than the Publishers Weekly description of this book. Quoting Dr. Jahanbegloo, "...you do not need to go to prison in Iran to become aware that Iranian politics has mobilized the worst human qualities: egoism, envy, hatred, and incivility."

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NVDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top