Boy on Ice

Boy on Ice

The Life and Death of Derek Boogaard

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

The Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's heartbreaking account of the life and shocking death of the toughest man in hockey.

Boy on Ice is New York Times reporter John Branch's chronicle of Boogaard's tragic life and death. A human story in the tradition of Friday Night Lights and The Blind Side, it's a book that raises deep and disturbing questions about the systemic brutality of contact sports-from peewees to professionals-and damage that reaches far beyond the game.
Derek Boogaard was a mountain of a man who lived an almost mythic sports story: from pond-hockey on the prairies of Saskatchewan to a first NHL contract in Minnesota, to the storied New York Rangers as the most-feared enforcer in the league. A gentle young man, he was a brutal fighter on ice skates, capable of delivering career-ending punches and intimidating entire teams. But at twenty-eight, his death from an overdose of painkillers in the wake of a series of concussions helped shatter the silence about violence in professional sports.

Boy on Ice is a heart-rending, riveting inside look at the life of an enforcer, a book that, unlike any other, reveals in dynamic fashion the rules on the ice, where reputations are won and careers can depend on a single punch. In the case of Derek Boogaard, his final battle, with prescription medication, cost him his life.

Publisher: Toronto, Ontario :, HarperCollins Canada,, ©2014
Edition: First Canadian edition
ISBN: 9781443417044
Branch Call Number: 796.962092 BOO NVD
Characteristics: 371 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lionelxy
Jul 26, 2015

Very heartbreaking. The book helped me to understand hockey and to see the other side of the sport. The content repeat itself in some parts, but this does not stop this book being good.

athompson10 Feb 25, 2015

Heartbreaking. The author traces the life of one of hockey's most feared 'enforcers'/fighters and his all-too-preventable death. Sad and wrenching and beautifully written and much more than a sports biography.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NVDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top