A Divergent Collection

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
A companion volume to the Divergent series, four pre-Divergent stories plus three additional scenes from Divergent, all told from Tobias's point of view, that follow Tobias's transfer from Abnegation to Dauntless, his Dauntless initiation, the first clues that a foul plan is brewing in the leadership of two factions, and the weeks after he meets Tris Prior.
Publisher: New York, New York :, Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,, 2014
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9780062345219
Branch Call Number: YF ROT NVD
Characteristics: xiv, 285 pages ; 22 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Aug 14, 2017

This was a great book. I liked how there were four parts to it. It was very descriptive and a interesting book overall.

Sep 05, 2016

It took me a long time to commit to reading this collection at the beginning, for some reason I cannot think of now. It's very close to being my favourite book of the series now! It wasn't just the same story in a different perspective, it also shows scenes Four saw that Tris didn't, giving added insight into the story. I would recommend this for sure. Just a little miffed that Free Four wasn't in my copy :(

Jul 28, 2016

To read this book after all of the Divergent series, it fitted together perfectly, and was amazing to find out about Tobias's point of view. It includes details of his transfer, his relationship with Tris, and other little details that showed Tobias who he is. I actually liked how it was a simple story, wasn't very long, and am now hoping the author writes more short stories about the other character's back stories! :) Loved this book, five stars!! ;3

Jul 30, 2014

'Four' is Veronica Roth's latest book and is the prequel of the Divergent trilogy. Throughout the three books of the Divergent trilogy; Divergent, Insurgent and Allegiant, the books are basically being told from Tris Prior's side of the story. But 'Four' is told from Tobias Eaton's point of view. Four is a collection and is written into four short stories; The Transfer, The Initiate, The Son and The Traitor.

This novel is from when Four (which is Tobias' nickname in Dauntless) transfers from Abnegation to Dauntless, during his initiation. Four’s overall ranking is first place. He turns down the opportunity becoming the youngest dauntless leader and becomes a initiation instructor instead for the transfers and the rest of the time he works in the control room. Two years after his initiation, Four meets Tris and his life just stops. Four felt like they were connected and went through the same thing as he transferred from Abnegation just like Tris.

'Four' and 'Divergent' are told at the same period of time and are told from different people's perspective. Four gives you a lot more detail about Divergent, more then I ever got from reading a book before and trust me I've read lots.

I recommend this book for all the Divergent fans out there. If you are going to read this novel you should read the Divergent trilogy first. Even though it's the prequel, when you read the Divergent trilogy you will understand the story more. That’s why the Divergent trilogy was released before 'Four'.


Add a Summary

Jul 27, 2014


Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at NVDPL

To Top