The Caliph's House

The Caliph's House

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family’s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge–and nothing is as easy as it seems....
Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, 2006
Edition: Bantam Trade paperback edition
ISBN: 9780553383102
Branch Call Number: 964.38 SHA NVD
Characteristics: 349 p. ; 22 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Exotic Lands
NVDPL Librarians Jun 17, 2016

Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family’s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
DeniseEA
Jun 27, 2014

I really enjoyed this book, it rings of human acceptance, has great characters and is written well enough to create a visual for me again and again. Better than a movie...come to think of it, I'd love to see a movie made of it! If this book has your interest I would suggest you go for it, I think you'll like it.

m
mhart2012
Aug 09, 2012

Very good read. Really gives a very descriptive, real-life insight to the culture of Morroco. Would definitely recommend if interested in the travelogue genre.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NVDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top