The Deepest Secret

The Deepest Secret

A Novel

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
1
For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we're scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.
 
Eve Lattimore's family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.
 
Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control--and some secrets that not even love can conceal.
 
Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power--a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.

Praise for The Deepest Secret
 
"A taut family drama . . . smart and thrilling." -- People
 
"Elegant, poignant, and utterly riveting . . . a suspenseful tale of love, forgiveness, and sacrifice that will leave you asking how far a mother really should go to protect her family and wondering about the cost of the secrets we all keep, even from ourselves." --Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia
 
"Exceptionally moving and unrelentingly suspenseful . . . everything a great novel, and thriller, should be." --Providence Journal
 
"Superb . . . The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. . . . A gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
"Carla Buckley masterfully portrays an ordinary family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis." --William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob
 
"Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this compelling blend of ripped-from-the-headlines suspense and close-to-your-heart characters." --Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fear Nothing
Publisher: New York :, Bantam Books,, [2014]
Edition: First Edition
ISBN: 9780345535245
0345535243
Branch Call Number: F BUC NVD
Characteristics: 427 pages ; 25 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jul 24, 2018

The book “The Deepest Secret” by Carla Buckley is a great book to read if you like reading mystery novels. Carla does a great job keeping you interested in the book by adding new problems to the story so that you never know what is going to happen next. I liked how Carla not only gave the main character a huge secret, but she also gave this character a reason to keep this secret. This helped me not immediately dislike this character for keeping this secret because I knew that although this was wrong, there was a reason she was doing it. I would probably rate this 427 page novel, a 7 out of 10. This is because I found that I get confused when the book switched between perspectives. Although I usually like this in a book, I found that the characters weren’t explained very well at the beginning of the book, so although it said the character’s name at the beginning of each chapter, I wasn’t always sure who each character was. Overall, I think this was a very interesting book.
@bookadventure1322 of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

If you want a unique book with family and friendship then The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley is for you! I came across this book at the library and I did not expect to like this book as much as I did. Eve Lattimore is a mother of two children, Tyler and Melissa. Her husband works long hours in another state and Eve must care for them on her own. When Tyler was two years old he was diagnosed with a rare condition called XP. Every day when the sun rises, Eve makes sure that Tyler stays in his room with sunscreen on and the door closed. Eve’s job is to protect him after all, most people with XP don’t live past twenty. Now Tyler is fourteen years old and Eve tries to spend as much time with him as possible, maybe he could live until a cure is found. But, tonight Eve’s life is going to change from one simple act, that could put her in great danger. Carla Buckley’s writing style also made this book unique and that much better. Rating- 5/5 stars.
- @readit12 of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

ChristchurchLib Apr 21, 2014

"Wishing for a normal life after being diagnosed with a rare medical condition that makes him lethally sensitive to light, 13-year-old Tyler roams the nighttime streets to observe the neighbourhood family lives he covets only to become a key witness in the disappearance of a young girl." Fiction A to Z April 2014 newsletter http://www.libraryaware.com/996/NewsletterIssues/ViewIssue/dfef437d-ef88-41c9-a7e1-229a907a8f88?postId=8ed16493-2fe1-4059-b706-6d0ff80212e7

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NVDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top