Alex

Alex

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
11
2
1
Rate this:
In kidnapping cases, the first few hours are crucial. After that, the chances of being found alive go from slim to nearly none. Alex Prevost, beautiful, resourceful, tough, may be no ordinary victim, but her time is running out. Commandant Camille Verhoeven and his detectives have nothing to go on: no suspect, no lead, rapidly diminishing hope. All they know is that a girl was snatched off the streets of Paris and bundled into a white van. The enigma that is the fate of Alex will keep Veroeven guessing until the bitter, bitter end. And before long, saving her life will be the least of his worries.
Publisher: New York :, MacLehose Press,, c2013
New York : MacLehose Press, c2013
ISBN: 9781623650001
1623650003
Branch Call Number: F LEM NVD
Characteristics: 368 pages ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Wynne, Frank

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jnewday
Jun 22, 2017

Brutal violent vengeful. Some scenes will never be erased from my memory they are so ferocious. In the midst of all the suffering lie questions about who is the real victim and where does morality take us when the captive is released.

r
reader7176
Mar 16, 2017

New author for me and I liked this book. Will read other books as they become available.

m
maipenrai
Nov 20, 2016

The first book in the Commandant Camille Verhoeven Trilogy series

n
ndarel
Jul 21, 2016

A very well written book. Enjoyed it immensely. Some plots twist, but this one reverses on its self more than once. Loved it. The person who didn't 'read on' missed a good read.

l
looper46
Dec 08, 2015

OK, y'all--I confess--I did not finish the book---I'm not light-weight; read and enjoyed "Irene", but it did have some disturbing sections.
Maybe I was in a "delicate flower" moment, but I did'nt want to read anymore after the kidnapper dies and Alex is left with the rats. Sorry

l
Lemoncougar
Aug 13, 2015

Alex is one of the most original books that I have ever read.It is extremely suspenseful,original and harrowing.It is beautifully written.I look forward to more books by the author.

ParrenoDude Jan 04, 2015

I read this book in its original French, and must say that I was thrilled with the first 2/3 of the book, but disappointed with the last third. Doesn't mean it's not worth a read, but perhaps it just didn't end the way I was hoping? Give it a whirl.

r
richardtuckerjones
Jan 04, 2015

This is a fantastic book: a terrifying tale of revenge. Every time you think it's over, it is really just getting more interesting. I have to read the prequel when it arrives!

s
stephaniedchase
Jan 14, 2014

Brutal and violent, but also suspenseful. For fans of Nesbo, Steig Larrsson.

ChristchurchLib Oct 14, 2013

"Dark and twisty, starring a tragic French detective and a beautiful kidnapping victim, this translation of a bestselling French novel is the 2013 winner of the CWA International Dagger Award. It's also the brutal opening salvo in a trilogy (though actually the 2nd book in the French version). Knowing he has little time to save the young woman, senior detective Camille Verhoeven is desperate to find her, but the victim - Alex Prévost, held naked in a filthy, tiny cage suspended over a floor teeming with hungry rats - turns out to have resources of her own. Be prepared for violence and torture; some graphic scenes won't be for everyone." Thrillers and Suspense October 2013 newsletter http://www.nextreads.com/Display2.aspx?SID=5acc8fc1-4e91-4ebe-906d-f8fc5e82a8e0&N=688170

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

akeem7nyc Feb 01, 2014

akeem7nyc thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NVDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top