Breathless

Breathless

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
In the tradition of Housekeeping and Tinkers , award-winning Swedish author Anne Swärd's American debut blends the lyricism of youth with the darker desires of age.

Lo was just six when she met thirteen-year-old Lukas the night a brushfire threatened their community. Both the children of immigrants, both wild with love for the land, theirs was an easy friendship despite the fierce injunctions of Lo's family. Meeting in secret at an abandoned lake house, they whiled away their summers in the water and their winters curled up inside, reenacting dialogue from their favorite film, Breathless.

How a friendship so innocent and pure--and so strictly forbidden--could be destroyed is a mystery that unfolds across Lo's travels from Berlin to Copenhagen to New York, from tryst to tryst, as she seems fated to roam the outside world she blames for tearing her and Lukas apart. Haunting, resonant, full of humor and heartrending depth, Breathless explores how childhood acts can stake an unimpeachable claim on our older selves, and how atonement might be wrest from the past.
Publisher: New York : Viking, 2013
ISBN: 9780670026548
Branch Call Number: F SWA NVD
Characteristics: 275 p. ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Bragan-Turner, Deborah

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

BCD2013 Jun 06, 2014

NYPL Staff Picks
Follows the secret friendship of young Lo and Lukas, who bond over a mutual love for a favorite film and whose relationship is destroyed by a mystery that unfolds throughout Lo's travels from Berlin to Copenhagen and New York.

loveablelibrarian Apr 16, 2014

My mother always told me never to judge a book by it's cover and I really wish I had taken her more literally. This book has the most beautiful cover but was one of the most painful things I have read recently! I know the author was trying to get a some tragic truths but I found I couldn't muster any empathy for the characters. That said, I had a really strong reaction to this book which probably means I will be carrying it with me for some time. So there was a lot of pain in equal measure with a LOT of impact.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at NVDPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top