The Drowning

The Drowning

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Swedish crime sensation and No. 1 international bestseller, Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller - for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo
Publisher: London : HarperCollins, 2012
ISBN: 9780007419548
Branch Call Number: F LAC NVD
Characteristics: 489 p. ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Nunnally, Tiina 1952-


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Nov 05, 2016

Good strong book even with all that family/children obsession ever present. But I guess that's the theme of the book, right. The end is a bit over the top. This is a book about revenge and the author is very careful in giving us as little information as possible. The fact is that the truth is really anticlimactic. It's just very hard to believe. Still, a good book, well paced and always leaving us in total darkness.

Jun 24, 2016

Nordic the characters Erica and Patrick

Nov 21, 2015

Would not reccomend this book. I have read all of the other books in the series and that was the main reason I finished. Just disappointing.

Too slow to get going (at least 200 pgs) and none of the characters in the group were likable. Events were again predictable and too similar to hidden child.

Spoiler - Will also agree, the killers motive reveal was very disturbing given the circumstances. The killer's reveal also very unsatisfying. Getting real tired of characters withholding information from the reader for no good reason. Won't be reading the next book for a long long time which is saying something given the cliffhanger.

Oct 01, 2015

This book was definitely not one of my faves in the series. There just wasn't enough revealed to keep me interested. The book went on and on and nothing was revealed. Not until the very end and by then it's kind of a moot point. The best thing was that Erica was a more prominent character than in some of the past books.

Jul 10, 2012

I wouldn't really recommend this book. It is slow to get going - For maybe 3/4 of the book not much happens, then it picks up.

I cannot stomach reading about child abuse or abuse of handicapped persons.

Don't read further if you don't want spoilers. One thing that bothered me is the ending. The author doesn't seem to know that schizophrenia and split personality are two different disorders.

Jun 20, 2012

I found the ending to be quite a let down. It started off quite interestingly, as have her other books, but it's now becoming a bit formulaic. The main story gets sidetracked with something to do with Mellberg, which has ceased to be funny, or with Erica, who despite being overwhelmed by her daughter and her twin pregnancy, still manages to be snoopy and a general busybody, managing to outwit the Tanumshade police with key clues. Why even have Patrrik as a main character when half the time he's clueless and over worked? Then there's the annoying intermittent two page italic narrative of the killer that has been present in the past couple of books...

It's mostly on par with most of Camilla's stories but the ending is such a let down that I'd have to say that this one falls to the bottom of the heap.

May 22, 2012

Once again, another absorbing thriller from this author. The multiple plot lines will keep you turning the pages as you try to figure out whodunnit. As for the ending, the next instalment can't come out fast enough after a cliffhanger like that.

Apr 25, 2012

What a good book! Her best yet. I loved the way she sets up her scenes. You don't figure out , till the end of the book. There's no surprise ending as she weaves her characters right from the beginning and develops these well.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at NVDPL

To Top